Academic Calendar 2016-2017

Summer Term 2016

July 4 Monday Independence Day; classes do NOT meet
July 5 Tuesday Orientation for APMPH and Accelerated MBA/MPH students
July 6 Wednesday Summer session classes begin for APMPH and Accelerated MBA/MPH students
August 19 Friday Classes end for APMPH and Accelerated MBA/MPH summer session

Fall Term 2016

August 22 - 30 Monday-Tuesday Orientation week for incoming MPH students
August 31 Wednesday Fall term classes begin
September 2 Friday Friday classes do NOT meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 5 Monday Labor Day; classes do NOT meet
September 14 Wednesday Course registration and exemption deadline 
October 14 Friday Last day to withdraw from a fall term course without the course appearing on the transcript
October 19 - 21 Wednesday-Friday Regular classes do NOT meet 

October 24 Monday Classes resume
November 18 Friday November recess begins, 6:00 p.m.
November 28  Monday Classes resume
December 9 Friday Last day to withdraw from a fall term course 
December 9 Friday Classes end, 6:00 p.m.; Reading Period begins*
December 15 Thursday Final examinations begin
December 21 Wednesday Final examinations end; Winter recess begins

Spring Term 2017

January 16 Monday Martin Luther King Day (no classes)
January 17 Tuesday Spring term classes begin
January 20     Friday Friday classes do NOT meet; Monday classes meet instead
January 31 Tuesday Course registration and exemption deadline
March 10 Friday Last day to withdraw from a spring term course without the course appearing on the transcript
March 10 Friday Spring recess begins, 6:00 p.m.
March 27 Monday Classes resume
April 15 Saturday

Submit MPH thesis to readers for grading (if required to complete a thesis).

April 28 Friday Last day to withdraw from a spring term course 
April 28 Friday Classes end, 6:00 p.m.; Reading Period begins*
May 4 Thursday Final examinations begin
May 10 Wednesday Final examinations end
May 22 Monday University Commencement 
* Some classes may meet during Reading Period. 

Grading Calendar

August 26 Friday Final grades are due for summer session (APMPH/Accelerated MBA/MPH)
January 9 Monday Final grades are due for fall term (all students)
May 1 Monday Final THESIS grades are due to Registrar
May 12 Friday Final grades are due for spring term (all graduating students)
June 2 Friday Final grades are due for spring term (all returning students)