Eric Mood New Professional Award

Attn: AYAPH Awards Committee

Yale School of Public Health
Office of Alumni Affairs60 College Street
P.O. Box 208034
New Haven, CT 06520-8034

(subject line: AYAPH Awards Committee)

To commemorate the contributions and career of Eric W. Mood, beloved teacher and mentor for almost 50 years (1949-1998) at the Yale School of Public Health, the Board of Directors of the Association of Yale Alumni in Public Health established the New Professional Award in 2005.  This award recognizes the career of an alumnus/a who is a promising new professional in the field of public health.

Selection Process

Final determination of the award recipient is based on eligibility and demonstration of outstanding professional potential in the field of public health in the following areas:
  1. Leadership
  2. Creativity in the practice of public health
  3. Service to the field and/or to the Yale School of Public Health


A graduate of the last 10 years from either the Yale M.P.H. program or a doctoral program in a core public health discipline.

All nominations should include a CV, resume or bio and may include a statement of nomination of not more than one page and should be sent to the AYAPH Awards Committee.


2016 - Ruchit Nagar, MPH '16
2014 - Gretchen Van Wye, PhD ‘04
2013 - Kee Chan, PhD '07
2012 - Amy R. Sapkota, MPH '99
2011 - John Brownstein, PhD '04
2010 - H. Dean Hosgood, MPH ’05, PhD ‘08
2009 - Melinda M. Pettigrew, PhD ’99
2008 - Keshia Pollack, PhD, MPH ’02 
2007 - Kaakpema Yelpaala, MPH ’05 
2006 - Elisabeth Schauer, MPH ’96 
2005 - David Newman, MPH ’96